On 7th February 2024, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Uganda, Hon. General Hajji Abubaker Jeje Odongo, and the IRB Board Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer of the Electricity Regulatory Authority of the Republic of Uganda, Eng. Ziria Tibalwa Waako, signed the Country Hosting Agreement for the Independent Regulatory Board (IRB) of the Eastern Africa Power Pool (EAPP). The IRB Host Country Agreement will grant the IRB Secretariat and its staff the chance to get diplomatic status and tax exemption in Kampala.

The IRB Host Country Agreement was signed after the Independent Regulatory Board's decision, which was subsequently ratified by the EAPP Council of Ministers (COM) during the 16th COM meeting and received the Republic of Uganda’s Cabinet approval on the 8th May 2023, to host the IRB Secretariat in Kampala, Uganda.